top of page
  • Writer's pictureChao Vang

Reflecting on McNair

Updated: May 7

April 30, 2024


MY JOURNEY 

My journey as a McNair scholar has been full of opportunities. Some impactful opportunities were being able to research, getting a stipend and many other incredible experiences. However, I’d argue that the biggest incentive is the invaluable experiences of navigating through your research and the connections that are made along the journey. First and foremost, I have the director and assistant director to empower me to pursue research and my career choices. Being on a level of closeness with them has validated me further in unlearning and relearning that I can achieve my academic goals and future careers. One thing is to unlearn what society has placed onto me and that I can pursue goals I make.


I had an altercation with a different professor who had said that I should not pursue a PhD or law degree; overall, it impacted me negatively. The McNair director said to me, “Chao don’t ever let anyone tell you that you are not graduate material because you are. Don’t listen to them.” Having mentors who validate and navigate through challenges are one of the many aspects of McNair; it is not the first thing that is brought up when McNair is the topic of a dialogue. McNair also helped me navigate how to find a mentor that can challenge me and guide me.


My relationship with my faculty mentor, who is overseeing my research, is one where I am proud of. My mentor challenges me to critically think about research, the community and how these two impacts one another. This helps me be more critically aware of my environment. Having my mentor see and validate what I am going through is very empowering; they ensure that I can achieve anything as long as I hatch a plan on how to achieve the goal. I can also utilize them as a resource for navigating through higher education. As I have mentioned before, my major is education and am currently student teaching; it is such a rewarding feeling when your students understand what they are being taught and can show you their hard work. I cannot speak for my mentor; however, she has said, “so proud of you, Chao” and “always proud of you.” I believe that I am bringing my mentor joy because they are able to see my work. My mentor and the McNair director coming to my CERCA poster presentation validates that my work is important.



(A picture of me presenting at Cerca)

 

MOVING FORWARD

As I wrap up my time at the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire, I will be studying for the FORT, a test to certifiy education major, and taking my LSAT in the summer. I plan to teach full time for one year. Hopefully, I will be able to make a decision on whether I want to pursue my PhD or my Law degree. There are many paths for me to take, but I have yet to come to a strong resolve on which path. This one year gap will allow me to reflect and understand my choices. 

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page