top of page
  • Writer's pictureChao Vang

PhD or Law Degree

Updated: Oct 18, 2023

09/29/2023


LAW DEGREE



First and foremost, I want to admit that I want to pursue a law degree for my parents, however, they are not the only factor that pushes me to pursue law. I want to do this for my parents to honor their efforts, sacrifices and time. I also want to show my siblings that a person of color, specifically Hmong, can achieve a high-level degree if they put time, effort, and commitment into the degree they are pursuing. These are the two extrinsic factors that causes me to pursue a law degree.


There are many intrinsic factors that motivates me to pursue law. One of these factors is to advocate for my clients. Being a part of the Hmong community has allowed me to understand and see that domestic abuse is often not called out. It is usually hidden, and these actions are not talked about. I believe that being Hmong myself will help connect with my future clients who are Hmong when I practice law. I can advocate for them because I am an insider with respect to the community.


Another intrinsic factor is laws can be challenged. There are many bills that have been passed to be laws, and some of these laws do not have Black, Indigenous, and People of color’s (BIPOC) best interests. In fact, they usually hinder BIPOC communities’ freedom. If I have clients who were to be affected by these laws, I can potentially challenge it and attempt to overturn these laws that are hindering my clients’ rights and privileges to live as a valued individual. However, if I fail, then I am content with the idea of me challenging these laws because it sets precedent for anyone else to try again.


PhD


The road toward a PhD was never something I wanted to pursue until I enrolled in the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire and entered the McNair Program. In my previous post, I had mentioned about my history with research and how early experiences with research was not enjoyable. In this blog, I also mentioned about how much I currently enjoy research. For example, my summer research has allowed me to better understand oppression, and internalized oppression. This research has allowed me to understand powers that institutions (education) hold and how these institutions grant privileges to the dominant group and oppress BIPOC. I want to understand how a community can move forward with respect to equality, equity, and justice. The work and the ideas of amplifying individuals who are oppressed and are marginalized are what I want to know and understand more. I want to bring awareness to the community, so I can become more understanding of everyone within it.


TRYING TO PROCESS


Overall, these two paths are important for me. They are goals that motivate me to continue in academia; I can continue to pursue my lifelong goal of becoming an attorney or continue the route of research. There are pros and cons with respect to these two goals. As of right now, I am faced with a choice between two of my possible career goals and am in the process of reviewing the pros and cons. All my mentors have given me invaluable advice; it all comes down to what I want, and I am still in the process of deciding. Currently, I am studying for the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) and applying to PhD programs. I will continue to forge ahead because I know I will find my answer.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page